2085482668_7e5c5e99a4.jpg

(Listener and Dust “Just In Time for Christmas” album cover,
artwork by Ward Jenkins)

Hello friends, it’s that time again…the most wonderful time of the year. This Friday we are counting down our 5 Favorite Christmas songs. Join us!

Joy
Oh Holy Night by anyone including myself:)
We’re going to the Country by Sufjan Stevens
Santa Claus is Comin to Town by the Jackson 5 (really the whole album is the bomb)
Still Still Still by KasKade
Baby it’s Cold Outside by Nat King Cole

Kendra
O Holy Night
Christmas Time is Here (Charlie Brown Christmas)
Put the Lights on the Tree (Sufjan Stevens)
Santa Baby (not Madonna, but Teresa Brewer version)
Dont Touch the Drums, Boy (Listener and Dust, Just In Time for Christmas)

Andrea

christmas time is here (vince gueraldi trio, charlie brown christmas)
let’s make christmas mean something this year (james brown)
put the lights on the tree (sufjan stevens)
hark the herald angels sing
silent night

Meridith
Nope. Sorry. Can’t do it. I can’t just pick 5. If this is cheating I don’t even care.

1. “It’s Beginning To Look Alot Like Christmas” – Bing Crosby
From the time I see the first lights and signs of the season this song starts looping in my head. I love it. Can I just say that “Sleigh Ride” either the instrumental version or the one with words does the same thing…..it just feels like Christmas.
2. “A Charlie Brown Christmas” record from the Vince Guaraldi Trio.
My husband surprised me with this album on itunes last year as an early Christmas gift and it was probably my favorite gift from him that year. Does it get much better than this record? I submit that it does not.
3. Here We Come A-Wassailing
….I don’t know why I’ve just always loved this song it’s so Dickens and Olde English and everything lovely that goes with it. I love “Good Wenceslas” too. I want to drink a cup of Wassail and go wassailing around in warm coats to neighbors with holly branches and evergreen on the doorways every time I hear them.
4. The ENTIRE Sufjan Stevens “Songs for Christmas” CD set.
It’s wonderful. Every second of it. I love it. The song “Put The Lights On The Tree” may be my favorite but I refuse to pick a favorite really.
5. Angels We Have Heard On High
…..probably my favorite Christmas Carol. I love singing the “Glo-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-riah” and I love so much what it means. I love that during this time of year the people everywhere are singing praises to our Lord and Saviour.

