fresh.jpg

photo: Andrea

We all have them. The songs that we cannot bear to hear one more time. Songs that radio will not let die, songs that take us back to that time in history that we’d rather not revisit. These are songs we have heard thousands of times while grocery shopping, riding in an elevator, standing in line at the DMV. They get stuck in our heads for days and we are ashamed to realize somehow we have learned every single word without ever owning the album. Some of these songs even leave us with a pit in our stomaches from years of overexposure. Here are…

5 Songs I Cannot Take Hearing One More Time

Meridith
These are the songs that grind on my nerves. when i hear them it makes me want to bang my head against a brick wall just to keep from not
having to hear them.

*EVANESENCE-wake me up
i wouldn’t have even thought of this but i heard it play on a coworker’s radio this week and it just turned my stomach.
*MEATLOAF- paradise by the dashboard light
it’s just awful. awful. awful. awful.
*GREEN DAY-time of your life
yawn. i am bored just typing this.
*VERTICAL HORIZON-everything you want
this song gives me the same feeling that fingernails scraping on a chalkboard brings
*the song on the current target commercials that plays every commercial break! i have no idea what it is but i know that i REALLY
don’t like it. it’s a girl singing in a soft voice repeating some frilly phrase. it just annoys me for no apparent reason every time i
hear it.

ok, i want to throw up now just typing these song

Kendra
*Total Eclipse of the Heart – Bonnie Tyler (this song has topped my detestable song lists for years. )
*I Wanna Dance with Somebody – Whitney Houston (just picturing Whitney in that blonde wig bouncing around makes my stomache churn)
*Happy to Be Stuck with You – Hughie Lewis and the News (need i say more)
*Su-s-s-s-su-ssss-sudio – Phil Collins (or almost anything by him or Genesis. it was a tie between this one and the one with puppets in the video)
*I Touch Myself – The Divinyls (i cannot tell you how frightened I was to google “i touch myself” to find out who sang this…)

Kristen
*Total Eclipse of the Heart – Bonnie Tyler
Every time I hear this song, I am reminded of when Nate sang part of this song as the message on his voice mail. Dan and I would call his
phone knowing he wouldn’t answer, just to hear his ridiculousness! 🙂
*I Would Do Anything for Love – Meatloaf
*She Bangs – Ricky Martin
*I Could Fall in Love – Selena
*Crank That Soulja Boy – Soulja Boy
We turned on the radio for the first time in months and months. This is the song that was playing. We all felt like we were in the
movie “Idiocracy“.

this was harder than picking my top five! there is so much crap to choose from…

Andrea
*don’t cha by the pussycat dolls
*my humps by the black eyed peas
*oops!… I did it again by britney spears
*money for nothin by dire straits
*achy breaky heart by billy ray cyrus

I got sick just thinking of these. especially those first two.

Zabs
songs that make me want to puke:

*stroke me stroke me- Billy Squire
*once there was this man who- crash test dummies
*i get knocked down- chamba wamba????
*smell the color 9 -chris rice
*aaron neville in general

Joy
*the thong song, cisqo (well really anything by cisquo)
*heard it through the grapevine, anyone’s rendition
*jesus take the wheel, carrie underwood
*wind beneath my wings, bette middler
*you remind me of my jeep, r kelly

