(Kendra)

me2

(me, circa 1991)

For me it all began back on a summer day on St John street in the early 80’s. With my brand new ghetto blaster in hand I headed across the street to my friend Shelly’s house. I was probably 10. We had the music from the radio booming as we played hopscotch, and then it happened..that song I’d been waiting to hear for days began to play. I ran over to the ghetto blaster and simultaneously pressed “record” and “play” to catch the song forever on my cassette tape. That song was Eddy Grant’s “Electric Avenue“.

Not long after I was captivated by Michael Jackson’s “Billie Jean” and later the whole Thriller album. My 5th grade friend Adele had an older brother who was into Rock and I heard for the first time Def Leopard’s “Rock of Ages.” It was 1983. I spent the next few summers in front of the full length mirror in our hallway dancing to my favorite hits like Madonna’s “Into the Groove” Gino Vannelli’s “Black Cars” and “One Night In Bangkok” by Murray Head. It wasnt until 1986 that I hit a groove and went running with it. Laura, a new friend, loaned me a copy of Poison’s “Look What the Cat Dragged In,” and yes, I was hooked. Heaven knows why, but I was hooked. My naive little 13 year old mind was “poisoned” (if you will) by this new discovery, and for the next 4 years my life would revolve around Hard Rock.

I dove deep into the world of Rock music during my high school years, listening to everything from Cinderella to Motley Crue, Skid Row and Guns and Roses. After graduating in 1991, I headed to Seattle just in time for two major album releases. Guns and Roses “Use Your Illusion 1” which rocked my world, and the incomparable single from the album Nevermind, Nirvana’s “Smells Like Teen Spirit.” What can I say, to be living in Seattle at that time in history was amazing to me. Pearl Jam, Alice In Chains, Soundgarden, were all music staples.

In early 1993 my life changed significantly. I packed up and moved across the country to Cincinnati, OH. I was 20 years old and starting fresh with a new perspective on life. Two weeks there and I met my future husband, a guy dabbling in hip-hop production and DJing. We were two worlds colliding, musically that is, and introduced me to a whole new world. And my life has been a tossed upside down ever since.

In the years since then my tastes have fluctuated from Lenny Kravitz to Red Hot Chili Peppers, Beastie Boys and Blackalicious. Today we float between hip-hop, (mainly my husband’s music with Deepspace 5, Mars ILL, and his upcoming collaborative releases with MC’s Sev Statik and Poems), gospel, kid music, and a little of my old passion in a new way found in groups like The Fray. Life is good.

